Dashboard Access Overview
Admins can grant users different dashboard permissions by managing their dashboard access. This allows admins to have more control over what users can and can’t do on specific dashboards, rather than solely relying on the user’s system level permissions.
For example, let’s say you are the admin in your Grow account and you have an Executive Dashboard. You would like all users to be able to see the dashboard, but you want to lock down the dashboard to ensure you are the only user that can edit metrics, this is possible by granting all users “View Only” access to the dashboard.
There are four dashboard access options in Grow:
- None: Grants no access to a dashboard. Users will not see the dashboard in their Grow account if they are assigned “None” access to a dashboard.
- View Only: Allows users to view metrics and apply filters on the dashboard. Users cannot edit the dashboard or metrics.
- Format: Allows users to edit the dashboard, edit metrics on the dashboard, create PDF Reports and Share URLs.
- Manage: Allows for full permissions on the dashboard by granting access to the dashboard’s settings.
Dashboard Access by User Level Permissions
Functionality on the dashboard is mostly dictated by the dashboard access granted, but in some cases a user’s system level role also affects what they can do on the dashboard. For example, a Consumer user with “View Only” dashboard access can export data, whereas a View Only user with “View Only’ dashboard access cannot.
The following sections outlines what each system level role can do on a dashboard for each access level.
A user with View Only permissions be granted “None” or “View Only” access to a dashboard. “Format” and “Manage” dashboard access is not available for this permission role.
If a View Only user is granted “View Only” access to a dashboard, the user will see UI for the following functionality on the dashboard:
- Refresh Dashboard
- Fullscreen Mode
- Expanded View and Dashboard Filters (Custom, Date Range, Date Grouping).
A user with Consumer permissions in Grow can be granted “None” or “View Only” access to a dashboard. “Format” and “Manage” dashboard access is not available for this permission role.
A Consumer user with "View Only" access to a dashboard has all of the same functionality as a View Only user plus the ability to view Raw Data, Export Data from Metrics, and Generate a PDF of the dashboard.
A user with Visualizer user permissions in Grow can be granted “None, ”“View Only,” or “Format” access to a dashboard. “Manage” dashboard access is not available for this permission role.
A Visualizer with “View Only” dashboard access has permissions to the same functionality as a Consumer user with “View Only” dashboard access.
A Visualizer with “Format” dashboard access can do everything that a user with “View Only” access can, plus they have the ability to edit the dashboard, edit the metrics on the dashboard, and create Reports (PDF and Slack). Here is the list of what a Visualizer can do (in addition to “View Only” access) to a dashboard if they have “Format” access:
- Move and Resize Metrics
- Add Textbar Separator
- Add Image Tile
- Add Note Tile
- Auto-organize Metrics
- Add New Metric to Dashboard
- Edit Metric
- Copy Metric
- Move Metric
- Share Metric to Dashboard
- Create New Reports (PDF and Slack)
A user with Analyst user permissions in Grow can be granted “None,” “View Only,” “Format,” and “Manage” access to a dashboard. Analysts can also Add New Dashboards to their Grow account based on their user permission of “Manage Dashboards.”
An Analyst with “View Only” dashboard access has permissions to the same functionality as a Consumer user with “View Only” dashboard access.
An Analyst with “Format” dashboard access has permissions to the same functionality as a Visualizer user with “Format” dashboard access, plus the ability to create Share URLs.
“Manage” dashboard access gives you the full set of permissions to a dashboard. In addition to everything “Format” dashboard access grants a user, you can also edit the Dashboard’s Settings, manage Dashboard Filters (create, edit, and delete), Delete the Dashboard, and Add New Users to the Dashboard.
Architect and Admins
Users with Architect or Admin have access to manage all dashboards via their assigned role. Individual dashboard access cannot be assigned for Architects or Admins.
1. If I add a user to a dashboard through "Add members," what dashboard access level are they granted?
When you grant a user access to a dashboard through "Add members," Grow automatically assigns the user the lowest access option available. For example, if you add a user with Visualizer system level permissions, they will be granted "View Only" access to the dashboard by default. If you wish to give this user "Format" access, you can switch their access level in Dashboard Settings.
2. Can I change a change a user's dashboard access?
Yes, you can update a user's dashboard access at any time. You can do this directly on the dashboard in Dashboard Settings or you can manage an individual's dashboard access on their User Details page in Account Settings.
3. If I change a user's system wide permission role, what happens to their dashboard access?
Depending on the role change, Grow will override the user's dashboard access. For example, if you change a View Only user to an Architect, they will now be granted "Manage" dashboard access for all dashboards. However, if you lower a user's system level permission, for example if you change an Architect to a View Only user, Grow automatically assigns the user "View Only" access to any dashboard they previously had access to.
4. What is "Access All" in the Manage Dashboard Access modal?
This grants the user access to all current and future dashboards in the account. Depending on the user's system level permission, you can grant a user access to view all dashboards, format all dashboards, or manage all dashboards.
5. If I create a new dashboard, are all users automatically granted access to the dashboard?
Admins and Architects in your account will automatically get access to any new dashboards created. All other users will be granted "None" access unless they have "Access All" selected.
6. How do I give all users in my account access to a dashboard?
You can give all users access to a dashboard on the Dashboard's Settings page under the Access All dropdown.